Initial proposal for faculty of Engineering

A proposal for the faculty of Engineering to be attached to the University of Jaffna was proposed with dedication of Late Prof A. Thurairajah through the task force headed by Late Prof. T. Sivaprakasapillai with the members of Late Prof A. Thurairajah, Mr. A. Ragunathan, Dr. P. Sivaprakasapillai and Prof A. Kumar David in 1979. Then the UGC appointed committee including headed by Dr. S.M.A. Perera, with the members of Prof. C. Dahanayake, Prof. Willie Mendix, Prof. Milton Amaratunga and Vice Chancellor in 1988 recommended to set up the Faculty attached to University of Jaffna in 1988. Accordingly the UGC approved carder positions for 1 professor and 2 technical officers in 1989. Also it was planned that the Faculty of Engineering should be coming at Kilinochchi by the University of Jaffna as there was enough land and joining with Faculty of Agriculture. Prof A. Thurairajah became the Vice Chancellor of the University of Jaffna from September 1988 till March 1994. In 1990, Prof V. Navaratnarajah and two technical officers were appointed by the University to work on related matters on establishing the Faculty of Engineering. This was unable to open on-time due to the conflict situation.