Students obtained third place and two merit awards at the “Undergraduate inventor of the year (UIY) 2015” competition

The Undergraduate Inventor of the Year (UIY) 2015 competition was established by the IESL to encourage and stimulate creativity and interest in inventions among engineering undergraduates and provide opportunities for engineering undergraduates to organize and present their original inventions. It’s also a forum for networking within engineering undergraduates in Sri Lanka as well as members of industry and academia.

The competition was held at IESL head office, on 3rd October 2015, in Colombo. Undergraduates from Universities of Peradeniya, Moratuwa, Ruhuna and Jaffna submitted proposals to this event. This competition inculcated the basic principles for success in innovations such as having a stated goal, developing a design criteria and background research, preparing preliminary designs and materials list, considering costs and user requirements, building and testing prototypes, considering reliability, repairing and servicing, final product testing, presenting the results and etc.


There were three projects presented by three students from the 2013/E batch of the Faculty of Engineering of the University of Jaffna. They are:

  • “Conversion of waste Heavy Furnace Oil (HFO) and lubricating oil sludge into lubricating grease”, Presented by Mr. S. Sangar, Supervised by Ms. H. Krishnarajah and Dr. K. Velauthamurthy.

  • “Design of an unmanned solar powered lawn mower”, Presented by Mr. B. Shanthigan and Supervised by Mr. S. Thananjeyan and Dr. V. Cynthujah.

  • “Name-Voice controlled home automation system (clack)”, Presented by Mr. A.P.Y. Sandaruwan, Supervised by Mr. S. Arunan and Mr. S. Thananjeyan.

The above projects from the Faculty of Engineering of the University of Jaffna obtained third place award and two merit place awards in the UIY competition 2015. First place was not awarded in this UIY 2015 competition. This was the first remarkable event to showcase the competency level of the undergraduates with the guidance of the staff members from the Faculty of Engineering, University of Jaffna.